Mary O'Toole

Award category

Chair's Award

Year released


Mary O'Toole, whose distinguished career includes more than two decades of experience in regulatory and environmental strategy development, received the Inspiring Efficiency Chairman's Award. The Chairman's Award is an annual award presented to an individual who has provided exemplary leadership and support to MEEA throughout its history. During her tenure as Chair of MEEA's Board of Directors, Ms. O'Toole led MEEA to make great strides for energy efficiency-raising the dialog on energy efficiency to new levels, fostering a degree of collaboration previously unknown in our region, achieving measurable gains in energy efficiency. In her long career at Commonwealth Edison Ms. O'Toole directed the company's Environmental Services department where she was responsible for environmental compliance at all company facilities. In her capacity as director of ComEd's environmental strategy, she dealt directly with state and local regulators in complex negotiations that frequently had no precedents. For the last four years Ms. O'Toole has served as Chair of the Solar Electric Power Association (SEPA) and has played a leading role in advancing SEPA's partnership with the City of Chicago, supporting the City's drive to become the greenest city in America. Ms. O'Toole's civic engagement includes board service with The Nature Conservancy, Girl Scouts of Chicago, the National Engineering Advisory Board of Marquette University, and membership in the Leadership Greater Chicago Fellows Association among other honors. Ms. O'Toole is currently President of KO Solutions LLC, a firm that assists clients in the development of regulatory and environmental strategies.