Diane Munns, Iowa Utilities Board

Award category


Year released


Diane Munns, Commissioner, Iowa Utilities Board, received the Inspiring Efficiency Leadership Award for making energy efficiency a top priority during her Presidency of the National Association of Regulatory Commissioners and raising the level of energy efficiency in her home state of Iowa. Her leadership launched the Midwest Natural Gas Initiative, a coordinated effort by eight states to drive down the high cost of energy by decreasing regional demand for natural gas through energy efficiency in both electric and gas sectors. As co-chair of EPA's National Action Plan for Energy Efficiency, Commission Munns continues to grow in prominence serving our region and the nation as a leader for energy efficiency.