

Minnesota Leaders Advance Far Reaching Energy Efficiency Policy in Midwest

Minnesota Officials Win MEEA's Inspiring Efficiency LEADERSHIP Award

Midwest Energy Efficiency Alliance announced today that a coalition of partners including Minnesota Senator D. Scott Dibble, Representative Jeremy Kalin, Sheldon Strom from Center for Energy and Environment, and Christy Brusven representing the Department of Commerce will receive the Inspiring Efficiency Leadership Award for their coalition effort to lead the first, most comprehensive energy policy adoption in the Midwest.

On May 20, 2007, the Minnesota Legislature passed the Demand Efficiency Act – among the strongest legislation of its kind in the United States. The legislation provides for aggressive goals for energy efficiency, efficiency ratemaking, research to improve programs to reduce global warming emissions and programs to save energy for low-income consumers. With the combination of the 2007 passage of a Renewable Energy Standard, the Demand Efficiency Act will reduce the projected 2025 CO2 emissions in the electric sector in Minnesota by 42%. By 2025, more energy will be saved from the efficiency bill than will be generated by a nation-leading 25% Renewable Energy Standard.

This landmark achievement began with a strong legislative proposal by Governor Tim Pawlenty to improve the state's existing progressive energy policy. Brusven was the administration's point person for coordinating the legislative agenda. Successful passage of the proposal owes much to the legislative savvy of Senator Dibble and Representative Kalin partnered with the exceptional analysis efforts lead by Strom's group, Minnesota Center for Energy and Environment. These nominees have built upon Minnesota's model of energy efficiency leadership that has garnered a prior MEEA Award for Governor Tim Pawlenty, whose steadfast support for this legislation was critical at numerous junctures.

The core result is that Minnesota's new energy-savings benchmarks for utilities will save 1 to 1.5% of all energy sales by gas and electric utilities annually, through an estimated \$2.75B investment in electricity- and natural gas-conservation technologies. On the electricity side alone, a similar investment in new electric generation would yield only one quarter to 1/7 of the energy services that investment in efficiency technologies will. This legislative accomplishment promises to nearly triple the nationally-recognized energy-saving efforts of Minnesota utilities.

Sheldon Strom, Executive Director of the Minnesota Center for Energy and the Environment, Minnesota state Senator D. Scott Dibble and Minnesota state Representative Jeremy Kalin jointly earned the 2008 MEEA Leadership Award. Their accomplishment is the policy development and passage of the Demand Efficiency Act as part of Governor Tim Pawlenty's Next Generation Energy Act of 2007. Theirs is an accomplishment of national significance.

Senator D. Scott Dibble began his public policy career at the City of Minneapolis, and counts Strom among early mentors. Dibble is widely regarded as one of the hardest-working and most productive members of the Minnesota Senate. Freshman Representative Jeremy Kalin put his previous real-world experience in sustainable home design and construction to work, and in his first legislative session established energy efficiency as his signature policy issue. These honorees will be recognized at MEEA's **Inspiring Efficiency Awards Ceremony**, being held at the **Drake Hotel in Chicago**, **Illinois**, on **January 10**, **2008**. Please visit <u>www.mwalliance.org/awards</u> or <u>www.mwalliance.org/conference</u> for more information on the Midwest Energy Solutions Conference.

Summary of MEEA's 2008 Inspiring Efficiency Award recipients, recognizing the Midwest's efficiency leaders:

Inspiring Efficiency EDUCATION Award—Schools for Energy Efficiency for implementing a program to save energy and money by changing behavior throughout school districts through increasing energy awareness among operations staff, students, teachers, and administrators. The program is in 400 schools, resulting in average energy savings of 10-20% and avoiding \$9.2million in energy costs in its first four years.

Inspiring Efficiency IMPACT Award—Miracit Development Corporation for developing Green View Estates. The first "green" subdivision of the City of Columbus, Ohio, the site upholds rigorous environmental standards while producing affordable homes. Homes in the subdivision are 25 to 40% more efficient than standard homes, saving \$900 per year.

Inspiring Efficiency MARKETING Award—Rochester Public Utilities for developing a Commercial Communications Plan to maximize commercial customers' participation in efficiency programs.

Inspiring Efficiency INNOVATION Award—George Bialecki for founding Alternative Energy Builders, a corporation that builds energy efficient communities, and for founding Alternative Energy Living, a non-profit foundation focused on research and energy efficiency education.

Inspiring Efficiency LEADERSHIP Award—Illinois: Senator Don Harmon and Anne Pramagiorre from Commonwealth Edison for their leadership to gain adoption of the Affordable, Clean Energy Standard, creating a 2% efficiency standard for Illinois.

Inspiring Efficiency LEADERSHIP Award—Ann Arbor, Michigan: The Ann Arbor Energy Office for its long-standing commitment to sustainable energy use. The Energy Office manages projects and programs, develops information resources, and provides expert advice to move the city toward more sustainable energy use.

Inspiring Efficiency CHAIRMAN'S Award—Sara Ward: Retiring Director of the Ohio Department of Development, Office of Energy Efficiency, a founding and active member of the MEEA Board of Directors and stalwart supporter of energy efficiency and renewable energy policy in the Midwest.

Winners will be honored at MEEA's **Inspiring Efficiency Awards Ceremony**, being held at the **Drake Hotel in Chicago**, **Illinois**, on **January 10**, **2008**. Please visit <u>www.mwalliance.org/awards</u> or <u>www.mwalliance.org/conference</u> for more information on the Midwest Energy Solutions Conference.