

Illinois Leaders Advance Far Reaching Energy Efficiency Policy in Midwest

Illinois Officials Win MEEA's Inspiring Efficiency LEADERSHIP Award

Midwest Energy Efficiency Alliance announced today that a statewide Leadership Award will be shared by Illinois State Senator Don Harmon (Oak Park) and Ann Pramaggiore Executive Vice President at Commonwealth Edison for their leadership to gain adoption of Affordable, Clean Energy Standard (ACES) as part of a larger utility rate bill.

On July 26th, the Illinois legislature passed the Illinois Power Agency Act (IPA Act), which establishes unprecedented commitments to energy efficiency resources. As a result, electric utilities in Illinois will meet an increasing portion of their load with energy efficiency resources and will help customers deal with the increasing costs of electricity.

Under Senator Harmon's leadership, the Senate unanimously passed the ACES bill which made provisions for efficiency and renewable energy resources. Harmon's leadership on the Senate Energy and Technology Committee was critical to ensuring clean energy was a priority during the legislative session. When it came time to cut the rate deal, Pramaggiore ensured that efficiency was front and center on the table. Both Harmon and Pramaggiore understand that if consumers are to take control of their energy consumption, they need tools, resources, products, and information.

All parties involved in the negotiation – environmental and consumer advocates, key legislators and the Leadership from both sides of the House and Senate, representatives from the Attorney General's office and the Governor's office, and representatives from the City of Chicago – worked to advance a clean energy portfolio that included energy efficiency and renewable energy targets. But it was Harmon and Pramaggiore who took the reins when negotiations stalled and a rate package would have passed without the sorely needed energy efficiency and renewable safeguards for consumers.

As a result of this leadership, ten Governors from the Midwest signed onto an Energy Security and Climate Stewardship platform for the region which uses the targets in the Illinois legislation as their goal: 2% of retail electric sales must be met through energy efficiency by 2015 and each year beyond.

"Thanks to the strong leadership of Senator Harmon and Ms. Pramaggiore, Illinois now counts itself as one of the leaders on energy efficiency policy," said Alecia Ward, President and CEO of the Midwest Energy Efficiency Alliance. "Starting in 2008, Consumers will have options for improving the efficiency of their existing homes and business and perhaps more importantly, they will have information about how to demand more efficient homes and businesses and thus control their energy consumption and their bills."

Summary of MEEA's 2008 Inspiring Efficiency Award recipients, recognizing the Midwest's efficiency leaders:

Inspiring Efficiency EDUCATION Award—Schools for Energy Efficiency for implementing a program to save energy and money by changing behavior throughout school districts through increasing energy

awareness among operations staff, students, teachers, and administrators. The program is in 400 schools, resulting in average energy savings of 10-20% and avoiding \$9.2million in energy costs in its first four years.

Inspiring Efficiency IMPACT Award—Miracit Development Corporation for developing Green View Estates. The first "green" subdivision of the City of Columbus, Ohio, the site upholds rigorous environmental standards while producing affordable homes. Homes in the subdivision are 25 to 40% more efficient than standard homes, saving \$900 per year.

Inspiring Efficiency MARKETING Award—Rochester Public Utilities for developing a Commercial Communications Plan to maximize commercial customers' participation in efficiency programs.

Inspiring Efficiency INNOVATION Award—George Bialecki for founding Alternative Energy Builders, a corporation that builds energy efficient communities, and for founding Alternative Energy Living, a non-profit foundation focused on research and energy efficiency education.

Inspiring Efficiency LEADERSHIP Award—Minnesota: Senator D. Scott Dibble, Representative Jeremy Kalin, Sheldon Strom from Center for Energy and Environment, and Christy Brusven of the Department of Commerce for their coalition effort to lead the first, most comprehensive energy policy adoption in the Midwest.

Inspiring Efficiency LEADERSHIP Award—Ann Arbor, Michigan: The Ann Arbor Energy Office for its long-standing commitment to sustainable energy use. The Energy Office manages projects and programs, develops information resources, and provides expert advice to move the city toward more sustainable energy use.

Inspiring Efficiency CHAIRMAN'S Award—Sara Ward: Retiring Director of the Ohio Department of Development, Office of Energy Efficiency, a founding and active member of the MEEA Board of Directors and stalwart supporter of energy efficiency and renewable energy policy in the Midwest.

Winners will be honored at MEEA's **Inspiring Efficiency Awards Ceremony**, being held at the **Drake Hotel in Chicago**, **Illinois**, on **January 10**, **2008**. Please visit <u>www.mwalliance.org/awards</u> or www.mwalliance.org/conference for more information on the Midwest Energy Solutions Conference.